Slide PAGE SPEED REVIEW Ecommerce Vendors
Challenge
This month, we elected to look at eCommerce vendors, and also compare not only desktop page speed load times, but mobile as well.*

As a benchmark, rather than just using our own website, we decided to run with Google's "Think with Google" website, which we've reported on in the past.

As Google is the one "beating the drum" as it were for fast loading mobile experiences, it seems appropriate.
*Page speed load performance is carried out using gtmetrix.com page speed testing software.

 

 

#8 BigCommerce

BIGCOMMERCE.COM

MAY 2019

DESKTOP

After a temporary fix, Bigcommerce is back down to 11.3s.  It's a GradeF and that's all we need to know folks.

 

 

BigCommerce

BIGCOMMERCE.COM

MAY 2019

MOBILE

The Future is Certainly not that good for BigCommerce (per their latest promo). At 56.0s it's mind-blowing how they are still operating...

 

MAGENTO.COM

MAY 2019

DESKTOP

Since Adobe purchased Magento, things have declined rapidly in the page speed test. 7.8s and an E Grade.

 

 

MAGENTO.COM

MAY 2019

MOBILE

When you're website is non-compliant, you pull some ridiculous page speeds as a result. Here Magento gets a 67.5s speed along with an F grade.

 

 

SQUARESPACE.COM

MAY 2019

DESKTOP

6.1s  and a Grade Report of F.

 

 

SQUARESPACE.COM

MAY 2019

MOBILE

18.8s and a Page Grade F

 

Ecommerce Desktop Page Speed Challenge

VOLUSION.COM

MAY 2019

DESKTOP

4.6s Volusion has greatly improved over it's appx 9s average. It's holding onto the speed Grade  E and still has work to do to.

 

 

Ecommerce Mobile Page Speed Challenge

VOLUSION.COM

MAY 2019

MOBILE

Try as we have, again,  the speed tool throws out an error which was present in the 2018 testing. Volusion has some mobile issues.

 

WEEBLY.COM

MAY 2019

DESKTOP
Desktop improves to 3.4s in May 2019.

WEEBLY.COM

MAY 2019

MOBILE
Maintaining slow from 2018, its  16.5s for mobile.

SHOPIFY.COM

MAY 2019

DESKTOP

Shopify hovers at 3.2s and a page grade of C.

SHOPIFY.COM

MAY 2019

MOBILE

Oops! Shopify mobile just hit a big issue. 20.6s of time lag. Not so good.

THINKWITHGOOGLE.COM

MAY 2019

DESKTOP

Ahh...consistency. Google come in with another 1.4s page speed report in May 2019.

 

 

THINKWITHGOOGLE.COM

MAY 2019

MOBILE

9.7s is a regression for Google. Browserweb is #1 for Mobile Page Speed.

 

 

#1 Browserweb

BROWSERWEB.ORG

MAY 2019

DESKTOP

1.2s for our desktop website page speed, which runs on the latest version of WordPress CMS. Still undefeated and #1 for desktop speed.

 

 

Browserweb Mobile

BROWSERWEB.ORG

MAY 2019

MOBILE

7.1s. Browserweb is #1 for Mobile Page Speed.

 

 

 

 

You're looking for Consistency across Devices In today's world wide web, we're using multiple devices to surf the internet.  Mobile enjoys approximately 50% of the total device usage. What you tend to find is that the initial search is performed on mobile, with final decisions and purchases finalized on desktop devices. Business owners would be wise to make sure the page speed for all devices is optimal for their website(s). We now have Progressive Web Apps (PWA) and Accelerated Mobile Pages (AMP) to rapidly speed up mobile websites, but most businesses are still using responsive or adaptive designs for their websites.

At Browserweb, we took a long hard look at AMP when it first came out and yes, it's fast, but in effect it's stripped out HTML, like your reader view on your phone. It takes a lot of customization to make it more visual and with forms on-page.   We prefer visuals and interactive designs and, like many, have held off making the switch to AMP.

The more recent PWA seems a better solution, however, we've not delved into PWA. As most of our "challenge" websites below are using responsive designs for mobile, we've excluded PWA and AMP from the results. Hence, any website 12 seconds on under for mobile is currently a good barometer.

You'll see much higher page load times than desktop on mobile devices and as you can see from the results, only Browserweb with 5.6s, Google with 5.9s, and Shopify with 6.2s that came in under our benchmark 12 seconds.

To put that into perspective, only 3 out of 8 websites in our challenge loaded faster than 12s.  Mobile page speed is still evolving but over 12 seconds and your conversions will be negatively affected.

 

 

AMP’d WordPress Hosting

When it comes to finding the right web host for your WordPress or Woocommerce website, it’s important that your hosting company is an expert in their chosen profession.

We’re WordPress website designers, web developers and our network admins are extremely talented with WordPress too.

We’ve configured our web servers specifically for this leading content management system.

cPanel Controls

In our opinion, cPanel for customer access to administer their website, domain and email as well as other tasks is the best.

Not only are they headquartered out of Houston, we’ve retained staff that have worked with this leading provider in the past.

It’s a super easy way for you to manage your hosting account and you can login directly from your account at Browserweb.

 

 

We’ve Backed You Up

One daily backup, one weekly backup and one monthly backup, should disaster happen and you haven’t backed up your website, we’ve got your back.

Accidents do happen, even though you have several methods of backup available on your own, from cPanel to using a cloud provider or a WordPress backup plugin to focus just on the website content and database itself.

We’ve seen it happen and rescued many websites that did not have any backup or the backup they had was infected or damaged. Rest assured, we have regular backups to enable roll back and restoration of your website if necessary.

My Account

Your Account at Browserweb is designed with all devices in mind, which means it looks and works perfectly on your mobile, tablet, laptop or desktop device.

Need to pay a bill on the go or send us an urgent support ticket from your phone? No problem.

Wish to add funds to your account so you can make advance payments at any time, that’s easy too.

Wish to ask a question? We’ve a comprehensive set of visual FAQ’s and if that’s not enough, just send us a support ticket for a quick response.

 

 

special offer managed Blazing Fast Page Speeds
Fully Loaded 1.5 and 1.3s
with Revolution Sliders!
Consistency over time.
Our results never waiver.

 

 

WP Level II
for The Entreprenuer
$44.95
Month
WP Level III
for The Online Addict
$64.95
Month

Slide Already Hosting Elsewhere? We'll move your hosting and website
and your visitors will love
your supersonic page speed times.
DID YOU KNOW? A delay of one second in a landing page response time can result in a 7 percent decrease in conversions. NEW CLIENT PROMOTION We'll test your website for free and if your website is slow, we'll move you to our supersonic hosting for a very special rate. LEARN MORE ABOUT THE SPECIAL OFFER
Silver
for The Personal Planner
$14.95
Month
Gold
for The Entreprenuer
$21.95
Month

 

 

 

 

Slide